Finding your “Go-To” Recipe

When you’re the official baker in your house, like I am, there are usually a couple of recipes that are requested time and time again. For me, that’s chocolate chip cookies.

I’m very particular about chocolate chip cookies–they have to be very chocolatey and must stay chewy even after they cool. (Although I’ve been known to break my rules when I get a request for crispy chocolate chip cookies now and again.)

After trying what seems like hundreds of recipes and different techniques, I’ve finally found one that works every time. And the best part about finding your perfect recipe, is that after perfecting it, you can get creative and add different ingredients–white chips, nuts, berries, and my favorite alteration: M&Ms.

M&M Cookies

The best part about chocolate chip cookies is how versatile they are, there’s no wrong way to make them. So go ahead and bake some, your “go-to” recipe is out there somewhere, I promise.

P.S. Here are two of my favorite recipes: Alton Brown’s The Chewy Recipe and How Sweet it Is rainbow cookies (which are the ones I made in the pictures above.) Give them a try and tell me what you think..

2 thoughts on “Finding your “Go-To” Recipe

Leave a Reply

